The Zodiac Signs in Vedic Astrology

The three qualities of signs:

They are chara (moveable, corresponds to Brahma), shtira (immoveable, corresponds to Shiva) and dwishwabhava (dual state, Vishnu). These 3 qualities relate to the manner (patterns) in which native directs his/her energy.

Zodiac Signs

Signs related to the four elements:

Four from five mahabhutas (great elements) are corresponds to a set of constellations. Those elements show density level through which they function in life. Prithivi (earth), – Vrisha (Taurus), Kanya (Virgo), Makara (Capricorn). Jala (water), – Kataka (Cancer), Vrishchika (Scorpio), Mina (Pisces). Tejas (fire), – Mesha (Aries), Simha (Leo), Dhanu (Sagittarius). Vayu (air), – Mithuna (Gemini), Tula (Libra), Kumbha (Aquarius).

The signs of exaltation for each planet:

Sun, – 10 degrees Aries; Moon, – 3 degrees Taurus; Mars, – 28 degrees Capricorn; Mercury, – 15 degrees Virgo; Jupiter, – 5 degrees Cancer; Venus, – 27 degrees Pisces; Saturn, – 20 degrees Libra; Rahu, – 20 degrees Taurus; Ketu, – 20 degrees Scorpio.

The Mulatrikona signs for each planet:

Sun, – 4 – 20 degrees Leo; Moon, – 4 – 20 degrees Taurus; Mars, – 0 – 12 degrees Aries; Mercury, – 16 – 20 degrees Virgo; Jupiter, – 0 – 10 degrees Sagittarius; Venus, – 0 – 15 degrees Libra; Saturn, – 0 – 20 degrees Aquarius.

Characteristics of the Signs

The three qualities of signs:

Characteristics of the sign Scorpio:

It is physical, negative sign of Mars, fixed water, number 8 and sexual organs of Kalapurusha. Scorpio natives have well-developed muscles, like to exercise martial power. Mentally developed Scorpio people possess capacities for research, surgery and chemistry. Spiritually grown Scorpio natives like to explore depth of mind and occult science. They have predispositions for practice of Tantra and their kundalini can be easily awakened.


They like to work with external and internal energies. They are perceptive and intelligent but prefer to remain behind the scenes. Scorpio native possess the power to express powerful emotions. Less evolved individuals of this type are prone to perversity, can become emotionally unbalanced and violent. They are very self-critical and not satisfied with their abilities and achievements. Their subconscious level is very active.

Characteristics of the sign Pisces:


Pisces is the negative sign of Jupiter, mutable water, number 12 and feet of Kalapurusha. Natives of this sign possess complete display of all possibilities but not their proper integration. They are very indecisive, always have problems with making choice and often they are going to one direction and then toward the opposed. Natives of this sign are very sentimental and value their feelings.

They can be easily influenced by others and become dependent upon them. Pisceans lack of clarity, practicality and self-confidence. They are prone to emotional disorders and may have sensitive nervous and digestive systems. One of necessities for people of this type, – to develop discriminative awareness.

Characteristics of Taurus:


It is a negative sign of Venus, fixed earth, sign number 2, face and neck of Kalapurusha. Taurus types are stable, enduring and stable in their ways. They have strong sense of relationships, communicate well with others and associate readily with foreigners. Natives of this type possess good sense of form and beauty and easily develop taste, refinement and grace. They like to live in their bodies and their senses and that gives them tendency to become materialistic.

Their mode is acquire, preserve and refine. Natives of this type may become bankers, businessmen or artists. Development of devotion and participation in traditional ritual make help them to unfold spiritually.

The House System in Vedic Astrology

The Ascendant:

Ascendant (Udaya lagna in Sanskrit) is the degree of zodiac intersected by the eastern part of horizon at the place and time of native’s birth. Udaya lagna represents Earth as a planet in a chart. Lagna – the most important factor in Vedic Astrology: Lagna means „tied down“, it „ties“ the position of planets in sins and houses and defines domains of life that they will influence the most. It makes ascendant the most important factor in Vedic Astrology.


Midheaven, – the point of zodiac directly overhead. It is the cusp of the tenth house in Vedic Astrology.

House System

Midheaven house system:

It is system where difference between Ascendant and Midheaven divided equally. This method is used in Sripati system and works well in areas in close proximity to equator. For areas, which are further to north (like Europe) another house system can be considered as more suitable.

Equal house system:

This system regard Ascendant as a cusp of first house and place all other house cusps an equal 30 degrees from it. The disadvantage of equal house system that it doesn’t consider Midheaven adequately. This system more suitable for extreme latitudes.

House cusps:

Cusp is the most important and powerful point of house. Planets located at the cusp have the strongest effect and most typical meaning of the house.

Cusps – difference in Vedic and Western Astrology:

While Western astrology considers beginning of the house as a cusp, in Jyotish cusp marks the middle of the house.

Houses are considered from the Moon in Vedic Astrology:

Chandra lagna is used mainly in equal sign system. Moon as ascendant helps to verify state of different houses. There are 2 different approaches for cross verification of bhava. First uses Udaya lagna, Chandra lagna and Surya lagna. Second system uses Udaya lagna, Chandra lagna and verification in (D-9) Navamsha. Also, reading from Moon at rashi chart can give information about astral body of client. In cases when exact birth time is not known, reading can be done from Chandra lagna.