Mahapurusha Yogas:

Mahapurusha Yoga is a planetary combination, which indicates great people. It occurs when planets are located in their own signs or exalted and at the same time in angle from Ascendant or Moon. Only 5 major planets are considered, not the Sun or Moon. Such positions serve to magnify the quality of the planet.


Lunar Yogas:

An unassociated Moon is generally inauspicious, often if she is otherwise well placed. Moon does well I conjunction with benefic planets or with benefics in adjacent signs. It does better if Jupiter is located in angle from her (Gaja Kesari Yoga). When Moon aspected or hemmed in by malefics, particularly Saturn and Rahu, then emotional mind (manas) may suffer.

Planetary Aspects

Vedic aspects:

Vedic astrology judges aspects not according to the exact degree of angle between the planets involved but relative to sign. 180-degree aspect is the main aspect in Jyotish. Planet aspects the sign opposite it. The aspects are from planet via sign they occupy to another sign of zodiac and to whatever may be contained in them. There are general (180 degree) and special aspects. Vedic astrology doesn’t ascribe any particular quality to different aspects. Special full-strength aspect for Jupiter is 120 degrees (houses 5 and 9 from house of Jupiter). Some jyotishis are said, that Rahu and Ketu cast a full aspect to houses 5 and 9 too. Special full-strength aspect for Mars is aspect to houses 4 and 8. Special full-strength aspect for Saturn is aspect to houses 3 and 10 from its location.

Planetary Aspects

Planetary aspects:

Projection of influence by planets from their given position in the zodiac to certain other points is called planetary aspect or drishti („sight“ in Sanskrit).

The special aspects for Jupiter, Rahu, and Ketu:

Jupiter, Rahu, and Ketu cast a full special aspect on fifth and ninth constellations counted inclusively.

The special aspects for Saturn:

Saturn aspects third and tenth constellations from its position.

The special aspects for Mars:

Mars aspects fourth and eighth constellations from its position.

Combust planet:

Planets in close conjunction with the Sun become „combust“. They are weakened and may be rendered powerless. For Mars, Jupiter, Saturn the orb of conjunction for combustion is 8 degrees and 30 minutes, for Moon 15 degrees, Venus 4 degrees and for Mercury 2 degrees.

Hemming in of a planet:

When planet has malefic planets of the same type (either malefic or benefic) on both adjacent sides, – it is called „hemming in between“. While it is not technically an aspect, it has a strong effect like a major aspect. When planet „hemmed in by malefics“, it is called „Papakartari Yoga“ and planet in such position is weakened and harmed. When planet „hemmed in by benefics“, it is called „Shubhakartari Yoga“ and it protects and strengthen it.

Planets which are separative:

The Sun, Saturn, Rahu, Ketu and ruler of the twelfth house from Ascendant are separative planets. Sun burns things up. Saturn creates loss, detachment. Rahu is dispersing in its action and gives attraction to what is foreign or distant. Ketu makes us contract and causes negativity. The ruler of twelfth house creates loss and retreat, which is the nature of that house.

Planetary Periods

Dasha (planetary period) literally means „stage or condition of life“ or „border“. In Jyotish Dasha indicates both the conditions one will experience in life. It shows introvert nature of individual and the chronological boundaries of these stages. The Dashas are indicators that particular karmas have matured and ready to be experienced by native. There are 32 different dasha systems described in „Brihat Parashara Hora“. Vishmotary Dasha is the most widely used in India during last centuries.

Mahadasha or Major Planetary period:

Vishmottari Dasha allots varied periods of influence to each of the nine grahas in a fixed sequence, the entire cycle lasting 120 years. Mahadasha, – time allocated to each planet, is different for each planet: Ketu, – 7; Venus, – 20; Sun, – 6; Moon, – 10; Mars, – 7; Rahu, – 18; Jupiter, – 16; Saturn, – 19; Mercury, – 17 years. While the order of Mahadashas in Vishmottari Dasha is fixed, the point in order where the sequence commence in a particular horoscope usually depends on the Nakshatra position of the Moon at the moment of birth. The planet which rules this Nakshatra is the first ruler of native’s life and will continue to rule for that period allocated to it by the Vishmottari Dasha system, a portion which is proportioned to the distance the Moon has left to traverse within that Nakshatra.

Bhukti or Minor Planetary period:

Bhukti comes from root word „bhuj“, meaning „to enjoy, participate in, consume“. Mahadasha is divided into nine minor periods, which are each allotted to one graha, in the same order that characterizes the dasha. To determine the length of Bhukti use so-called Rule of Three: multiply the number of years allotted in the Vishmottari Dasha to the major period lord by the number of years allotted to the minor lord, then divide by ten and detach the reminder. The answer indicates the number of months in the minor period, and when the reminder is multiplied by three that answer indicates the number of days which must be added to the number of months to give the minor periods total length. Interpretation based on the Mahadashas help to evaluate general patterns of experience likely to unfold, while Bhukti permit dynamic interpretations which are usually more immediately meaningful.


Timing in Vedic Astrology

A transit, or Gochara, is the ongoing movement of a planet considered to the birth horoscope.

The transit of the strongest planet or the lord of the Ascendant in the birth chart are always important. Special notice should be given to the transits of the planets ruling the major and minor periods, the dasha and bukti lords. Transits have about 1/3 value in judging the effects of the periods. The rest is determined by the relationships between these planets in the birth chart.

Transits of Saturn to the natal Moon (Sade Sati) usually difficult:

Commonly Sade Sati causes Chatra Bhanga, the loss of those who protects us. Sade Sati does not act in isolation, confluence must exist to activate it, and appropriate dashas, Bhukti and Gocharas must support it. While in those charts in which Saturn promises good results and bad results of Sade Sati re sometimes greatly modified, the effects of Sade Sati depend substantially on Moon’s rashi, and on its condition. A debilitated Moon, or Moon posited in Saturn’s debilitation constellation, or in constellations owned by Saturn’s enemies, tends to intensify the consequences. Since Sade Sati is sometimes also taken to apply to the Udaya Lagna, difficulties are likely to be compounded when the Moon occupies the twelfth, first or second houses in horoscope, for then the both types of Sade Sati will overlap.

Transits of major and minor period lords are important:

The dasha lord is considered to be casting an aspect on all the planets and houses but double so upon those it already aspects in birth chart. Generally, the Bhukti lord will be considered to be casting an aspect on the Mahadasha lord, modifying the nature of its results. Chapter 20 of „Paladipika“ states: „When a planet whose Dasha is in progress happens to pass (in transit) his own house, exaltation or a friendly house, he will promote the prosperity of the house it represents when counted from the Ascendant, provided that the planet us endowed with full strength at the birth time as well“.